Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve logged the 60 dives I need for my dive master! This happened by accident as I didn’t think some of my dives count – turns out they do! Whoop!

Hello! Time has been absolutely flying and I’ve been neglecting you badly!

In the last month I have been to Pelorus Island three times, in the pool three, have completed my dive site map, and my 100m tired diver tow. I have lead a dive and demonstrated skills to students. When I haven’t been in the water I have been filling cylinders, packing gear, catering, cooking and generally supporting the instructors and dive shop.

The training is hard work and very physical – a far cry from my old job when I sat in front of a computer all day and rarely saw the sun – but it’s very rewarding especially when the customers tell me what an amazing time they’ve had on a trip.

I still have quite a way to go, so here’s a rundown of progress…

~ Knowledge Reviews 1-9 COMPLETE!!
~ Exams 1&2
~ Emergency Assistance Plan
~ Stamina Exercise 1 Timed 400m swim
~ Stamina Exercise 2 15 Minute Tread Water
~ Stamina Exercise 3 Timed 800m Snorkel
~ Stamina Exercise 4 Timed Tired Diver Tow COMPLETE!!
~ A Full Diver Rescue With No Mistakes
~ 20 Dive Skills at Demonstration Level
~ Skill 1 Mapping a Dive Site COMPLETE!!
~ Skill 2 Equipment Exchange
5 Open Water Training Sessions (sea) Including 1 Open Water 3 COMPLETE!!
1 Supervisory Situation With Certified Divers (lead a dive)

Plenty of work left to do but we’re on schedule for finishing by Christmas.

I’ll keep you up to date!

Love x

