I’ve been wanting to write a toilet post for a while but haven’t known how to approach it… then the solution presented itself one night on the night train from Nha Trang to Saigon in the shape of a roll of loo roll in the train toilet.

Now this may not seem a big thing to those of you who are used to having toilet roll in every toilet you visit, but let me assure you it is a very rare thing on a night train, or any train, or indeed any loo which is intended for public use.

So there it was. A loo roll. On a train. In loo that would be used by lots of people.

Naturally, I had a wodge of tissue in my pocket. And I didn’t use it. I reached out and tore a piece from this utter and total miracle on the 22.08 to Saigon.

This post was going to be about the many loos we have come across on the trip: wooden huts down the garden in Russia; the trenches in China – they had no doors, but they flushed; the utterly amazing self flushing, super clean toilet in the Stone Forest that I made everyone come and look at; the toilet overlooking the mountains on the track in Sapa (loo with a view anyone?) but I’ve decided to leave it at this.

Toilet roll on a train.Miraculous!

20120202-173435.jpg

