Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Recently I became a bicycle commuter. If those who know me would kindly pick themselves off the floor…

When I first started I commuted along the main road, sharing with massive seeming lorries that made me feel very small, grumpy car drivers who seemed to think I was nothing but an annoyance and the so-called ‘lycra brigade’ equally as intimidating in their shiny outfits, whizzing past effortlessly while I puffed and wheezed my unfit way along the route.

Just recently however I was told about a different way to get from my house to work, one that has only the smallest amount of road and mainly follows one of Melbourne’s excellent network of cycle paths.

I leave my little house…

Turn right towards the sea…

Have about half a mile where I cycle along the seafront through a nature reserve…

Turn away from the sea and follow a creek, crossing a wooden bridge which rumbles beneath our wheels…

Here are a few of my fellow commuters…

After a day at work we get to do it all in reverse. I nearly fell off my bike the first time I saw this…

